Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

Replacing fuel line with 3/8

5K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  462ho 
#1 ·
My 64 Galaxie has 5/16 fuel line. I want to install 3/8, but the pre bent line I see inline is for big blocks, and appears to go to the passenger side to fuel pump.
Of course, the small block's is on driver's side.
What is the best approach to replacing the line? Someone mentioned using steel or aluminum 3/8 brake line (cheaper) and bending it myself.

#2 ·
My 69's fuel line (original 3/8") runs from the tank up to just behind the bottom rear of the front fender then rubber from there up to the carb. The rubber part may not be original I dunno about that but you could buy the prebent 3/8" line then rubber or stainless etc to get to the carb.
I'm no mechanic so maybe there's a better way but it works for me.
Scott.

#6 ·
That briaded hose sound like a good idea. Only about $110 for 20 ft. of #8. Are there fittings for it to attach to the pickup line at the tank and going into the fuel pump?

Iowan, if I go to 1/2 line, would the 3/8 pickup at the tank and fuel pump restrict the flow and make it a moot point?
I have not seen a 1/2 fuel tank pickup for a Ford.

#8 · (Edited)
I made my own fuel pickup. Yes yes, it sucked, I had to relocate some things, drill some things and solder some stuff.

1/2inch hard line fuel pickup to the exit of the fuel tank. From there it is -8 to a 100micron filter, to a Carter4600HP electric pump to the engine bay where it hits a regulator. A 10 micron filter and the fuel line hits a fitting where it branches into two -6 hoses, one for each carburetor.
3 years now with no issues.

I do the same thing with transmission cooler lines, just use -6, super super easy to route them wherever I need it. Makes it nice to work on the car or drop a transmission.... you can drop the trans with all the lines hooked up. Disconnect them on the floor, etc.