347 swap, NeeD Help! runs good but dies when i tap throttle - Ford Muscle Forums : Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-18-2011, 04:23 AM Thread Starter

Angry 347 swap, NeeD Help! runs good but dies when i tap throttle

Hello all, new here. ive been buliding a 86 second gen rx7 for about 2 years now, started with a stock 302 from a junk yard. I went threw 2 different 302's from 2 junk yards. They both went out on me so for the last 6 months ive been buliding a 347 stroker. Its got a 4 barrel eldelbrock carburetor, msd 6AL, msd coil and a msd pro billet distributor. KB hypereutectic pistons. Comp Cams hydraulic roller lifters, comp cams 0.544 lift roller camshaft. PRW 1.6 ratio roller rockers. D.S.S. racing main support system and windage tray. Flowmaster mufflers 2 1/2" true dual exhaust, bbk shorty headers. Re-built C-4 transmission, TCI torque converter. The carb is the only thing i didnt buy brand new it came on the stock non h.o 302 I dont know what cfm it is but i know i need a new one.

Finally got it in and got it running pretty good. Had some issues trying to time it. My timing pointer has like a bubble and a upper straight edge i wasnt sure which to get my timing from. But i think i got that figured out it runs decent and starts up every time. My problem is when i tap the throttle the carb pops really loud and kills the motor. Havnt tried to drive it yet its on jack stands still but if Im smooth with the throttle it revs just fine. It goes into gear too. Im using the stock fuel pump in the rx-7 but i have a fuel pressure regulator so im running around 5 psi. Any advice is very much appreciated!! i've worked very hard and spent all my money on this car. I really want to get it atleast drive able so i can take it to a dyno and get it tuned right. This is my first build so i could really use some help. Thanks in advance!