Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning everyone, I decided to purchase a 1963 Galaxie 500 to work on. I'm not a mechanic by any means. But I am mechanical, and I think with the proper literature(and plenty of help from the guru's here) I will be able to get this things running and safe enough to jam my whole family in to go on Sunday cruises. Which is my end goal.

So a little bit of the cars background... 1963½ 2 door hardtop fastback has a 390, cruiseomatic trans, 3.00/1 gears.

So here we go. I took delivery of the car last night. Woke up this morning to tinker around a bit. The previous owner had mentioned the key would not start the car. So "curiosity killed the cat" I tried anyway and wouldn't you know it...it didn't even make a peep. The GEN light was the only thing "on" on the gage cluster. But if I popped hood and jumped the solenoid(I believe that's what I'm doing) with a screw driver it starts to turn over. I haven't been able to start it yet. Any suggestions on what my next steps should be to diagnose the problem with not being able to use the key would be very helpful. Thanks in advance for any/all help in this matter.

·
Premium Member
5,789 Posts
When you turn the key to start you should get 12v at the small wire connected to the "S" on the solenoid. Here is a great diagram by puttster on how it works.

Attachments

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The wires going to and from the battery look pretty beat. Would it be a good idea to replace them?

·
Registered
63 convertable
802 Posts
have someone hold your key in the start position and check the little wires with a test light. the one that comes on goes to the s terminal, the other to the i terminal.
yes you need to replace all three battery cables. neg, bat to relay and relay to starter

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #8