Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. Newbie here. I have a question that I found some info on here in this website, but still am seeking some info. I am looking for headers for my '66 Galaxie with a 289, auto. Some people who have posted have said that Hedman shortie headers for late 80's-early 90's F150's may work. I found a set of shorties through Summit (their own brand, SUM-G9036) that fit that yr F150, and for only $160. I also found a set of Hedman full-length headers (through Summit, HED-89270 ) for $175. My question is if they need to be shorties or if longer ones with work? And would I order the ones for 302 or 351 or does it matter? Thanks for any help you may have. I appreciate it!

grebma

1966 Galaxie 2 dr
1966 Galaxie 4 dr
1970 F100
1972 F250 Camper Special

·
Premium Member
557 Posts
I used shorty headers for a classic Mustang for my 62 Galaxie. the engine bay should be almost the same. For the most part shorty headers perform as well as long tube unless you have a cam with lots of overlap and shorties are way easier to install and tipicaly cheaper. you will need the 302 headers not the 351 headers. In my experience truck headers tend to be taller and harder to make fit in a car. I tried to make a set of F100 units I had on my Galaxie and there was no way they would fit.

·
Registered
419 Posts
Ok, dont take this wrong, but nobody makes a direct fit header for that?

Or are the direct fits just more than ya wanna spend?

I would definitely stick to simple and common parts if I were working out making a different application header fit- mustang headers are common, cheap, and there are lots of H-pipes or X-pipes available premade that are cheap and you could modify them slightly if need be... The truck headers may have advantages that I dont know of and look be in the the same price range....

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6