Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I have a 66 Fairlane with a 289 and she will not start. Short background: Had her out last week and she ran fine. Parked in the driveway and shut it down, and then she would not start again. After investigation, found out my Pertronix distributor crapped out so i put in the old stock distributor. After setting timing from TDC, i am getting spark, have fuel pressure, but will not turn over. I think i am getting some combustion because i hear the exhaust making noise. I even tried advancing timing and then retarding and still nothing. The gas tank is pretty much full and the gas is maybe 2 weeks old.

Im no scientist, but i thought gas+spark+compression=ignition! Apparently not.

Some more details, i am running a Flame Thrower coil and have bypassed the resistor wire, so thats not an issue. She is pretty much stock outside of headers, Edelbrock 650 and performer intake.

Anything i am overlooking??? I feel like i am missing something simple. Please help!

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
Welcome aboard and what do you mean by "it will not turn over"??:frown2:

Is it Hydro-Locked and the engine is locked up.....cannot rotate the crank shaft ??:surprise:

·
Registered
463 Posts
Timing chain jumped.

If it still has the original stock chain and nylon gears, they will often jump on shutdown.

You say,

but will not turn over
Do you mean it won't crank?
Or do you mean it won't fire?

You say,

i thought gas+spark+compression=ignition!
Did you actually check compression?

I learned this as...

If you have spark and fuel and no mechanical problems,

then it should fire.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry, she turns over, crank moves with no problems. But will not fire. Timing chain huh?
Did not check compression. The engine has run fine for a long time. Not sure if compression would all of a sudden be an issue.

·
Registered
463 Posts