Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone,

I have a 65 falcon with a 289, weiand stealth intake, 700cfm double pumper holley, decent sized cam, aftermarket heads of some sort, headers, etc. Prior to yesterday morning she ran great! But i was getting on the freeway and i was around 5,000 rpm when i was about to put it in 4th and she backfired and continued to backfire until she lost all power, i down shifted to try to keep her running but the momentum was the only thing that kept her going until she died on the side of the road.

After getting her towed home i started tinkering trying to figure out what is wrong, i'm far from a mechanic but i started to go down the list of what could be wrong with her... She turns over but wont start

My dad suggested maybe the timing chain jumped, i got her to TDC and the distributor was still lined up with the #1 plug wire so timing seems to be correct

Shes getting fuel & carb was recently rebuilt by a great carb builder so that isn't really on my radar for being the culprit

I did a compression check but i cant start the motor to get it warmed up, all cylinders were from 85-90psi which seems very low but consistent throughout.

The plugs all look pretty decent, since i bought her 2 months ago there has always been some oil at the base of the plugs and my friend said there is oil getting passed the rings but it didn't look too bad

Any suggestions as to where i should start looking next?

Picture is kinda blurry but thats her

·
Registered
378 Posts
Do you have good spark when cranking? The coil or ignition may have failed. I once had a Mallory Unilite crap out during cam break in and also dealt with a shorted coil that prevented the engine from starting.[/QUOTE]

·
Registered
734 Posts
From your description I'd say the timing chain did indeed jump.

Pull the fuel pump and you can reach in there with a screwdriver or other tool and check the chain for slack.