Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the ford-motor world. I think I read something that suggested to me that the firing order in 289-302's was different from the 351W. Is this true? Is one better than the other? Are most small block ford parts from 289-351 interchangeable? I have a 289 thats prety much stock and am wondering what are some good, modest performance increases.

I just got the motor in a 64 falcon and am considering going through it from the inside out. I don't have too much money so I don't want to go all out with aftermarket stuff. If I do any cylinder work would I be able to re-use the old pistons with new rings, bearings stc? Or would they have to be replaced with a bigger bore size, what would I need? I'm a college student on a budget you see.

I had in mind some port work on the stock heads, maybe valves? Don't know much about ford valve types/sizes. Also a cam, aluminum intake, mild cam and better flowing exhaust. I would rather steer clear of headers, does ford make any manifolds that flow well? On my Chevy's I used corvette ramhorns and am wondering if there is anything similar made for fords.

Whew! I have a c-4 behind the 289. I've never really messed with the inside of a tranny before but have read some on this site about H and R servos, clutches, bands and shift kits. I'm not really building too much HP or torque here, at least not yet, so I'll be happy with the minimum. What do you guys think I should do here?
As far as rear end, well I have no idea what the hell is back there? what did they put in 64 falcon's? It had a 260 originally.

Well, i guess thats it for now. I'm not diving into this all at once. i figured to work steady and slow on the engine-tranny-drivetrain for a while. Then suspension, then body, then interior.

Alright, thanks in advance,

J

·
Registered
739 Posts