Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 64 Fairlane 500 4 door with a 3speed manual trans and a 260 engine thats in excellent shape. I am a true novice and have no clue when it comes to knowing what mods makes sense in this case. I will use the car mostly for in town short trip driving so I thought changing to a C4 would be practical. Then again I really would like a bigger engine so I thought a 302 with a T5 would be fun. I really don't want a monumental project so an engine or tranny swap would have to be fairly straight forward. oh, and the rear end is set up for the highway so I guess I need to re-gear that. Any suggestions or directions you could give me would be really appreciated. I love this Rangoon Red Princess and will be driving it to my 50th high school reunion in 2014.

·
Registered
10,312 Posts
Why (exactly) don't you want to keep the 250/3-speed combo?

David

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Why (exactly) don't you want to keep the 250/3-speed combo?

David
I was thinking an automatic tranny would make better sense for all the stop and go traffiic where I live. And from the sound of things, the 3 speed might need a rebuilt soon. Also, I like the 260 but was hoping to get a little more horse power out of it than the stock set up. Any suggestions along those lines would be appreciated.

·
Registered
97 Posts
You can do a 302 c4 upgrade in there, it should be an easy upgrade. I did a 351w with a c4 trans in my 64 but the 351w is a pain to get in.. With the c4 trans I put a b&m shifter in the center like a normal car and it works great

·
Registered
10,312 Posts
Well, you have a ton of options, and your biggest issue is deciding which path is best for your driving style and circumstances. I will leave budget out at this time, unless it plays a large part in the choice.