Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone this is my first time posting I have been reading through for quite a while now learning I have a 1969 Sportroof Mustang with the original motor which is tired prior to I had a 1985 GT that was a project gone really bad so I am stripping it and sending off my point is the roller motor out of the GT had been bored already .30 over the local speed shop says .40 is fine if it needs it if it does is it worth it my idea for this is possibly a stroker kit with 69-70 351W heads not too sure of the cam yet but mainly would it be reasonable to do this motor if I had to bore it out or should I forget it and start to look at crate motors I am interested in the Ford Motorsports 351W with the GT-40 alumimnum heads I am a really new to this so any info would be appreciated or if you need any other info Thanks

Robert

·
Registered
116 Posts
I'm in a similar situation as you, I've got a 68 Cougar with a 302 I'm planning on building up and I'm picking the minds of the racing guru's here to help me figure out the best combo for me.

The engine I'm starting with is a factory 1968 302 motor with 20,000 miles on the rebuild (bored 0.30 over). Since the block is fairly fresh I think I'm going to just get some better heads, cam, intake, carb and headers. Then maybe a shift kit and converter and some rear end work. I'll be happy if the car will consistently run in the 13's.