Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings, This is my first time on the post so please excuse. I am a chevy guy, trying to get my son's '73 Maverick as close to the 400hp mark as possible. I have seen the cc article on 400hp with afr heads, so I know its possible. We have an "88 mustang 302 roller motor with an X-303 cam, '69 351 heads 1:94 and 1:60 valves.750 holley C-4 trans,3g stall, and 4.56. What (alum)heads will give the best bang for the buck? 165,185 runners? Is CNC porting worth it for street? Would 165's work if we decided to go 347 cubes next year?I don't want to tear down the engine,flycut pistons etc for now. ANY help is appreciated RC

·
Registered
440 Posts
if you want another set of 69 351 heads for it, let me know. i just pulled my 351w out of my car yesterday and am selling the heads.

·
Registered
6,662 Posts
You are in a little bit of a tough spot picking a head that will work well on both a 302 and a 347 but with the right cam it can be done...The AFR 165 would be fine on the 302 but will be a bit on the small side for a 347..You might want to choose a tad on the big side for a 302 using something around a 180-200cc runner and it will pay off later on the 347....Did you have a hp goal for the 347?..I am assuming these builds are for some stout street performance and not all out strip power?

Here are a couple of articles right here on the fordmuscle site regarding the 165 heads.
Dyno Duel - AFR 165 versus AFR 165cc Comp. 347 Dyno Test - FordMuscle
Installing and Dyno Testing Small Block Ford AFR Heads - FordMuscle

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the reply Frdnut, I liked 400hp or as close as possible. I should focus on 302 cubes cause that's what we got NOW. Are the Afr heads worth $400 or so, more than the Edelbrock heads, is quality the same? Let's face it If we save $400 on heads, we can put it elsewhere in the car. Thanks

·
Registered
1,604 Posts