Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Next weekend marks the start of our next project, a 302 into a '71 Pinto. I haven't seen all of the components yet, so not too sure what we're starting with. I have seen the car, is a nice straight little runabout. This is a family deal, car is going to be for a niece. Her, my nephew, his dad and I are going to be banging this thing out over the next 8 - 10 weekends with a goal of driving out of the garage by late December.

Nephew is fabricator by trade and is the one that did most of the grunt work for our '39 Studebaker Gasser project (now deceased) and was a major factor in getting my Falcon set up. He built the upper portion of the intake for my injection, frame connectors, etc. Point is, if it can be fabbed with steel or aluminum, we're covered.

I know this has been done before so I'm just looking for some heads ups from those that have gone before us. This is going to be a pretty mild street build, will most likely end up as her daily driver and probably run Sportsman at the track next spring.

Heater, radio, etc will all remain in the car. Firewall modification will be kept to a minimum for that reason. 302 will be carbed, C4 behind it, don't recall what I was told we'll be doing for the rear end. No cage, no tubs. Exhaust will be fabricated from the flanges out. I do have a front motor plate left over from the '39 project if that makes our lives easier.

How's about it? When you did yours, what worked and what didn't? Not looking for a step by step but if you have construction photo's I'd love to see them.

Thanks a pantsload.

Murff

·
Registered
1,609 Posts
You are swapping out the gas tank for a fuel cell, aren't you? wink, wink, nudge, nudge, know what
i mean.... (in my best Eric Idle imitation) lol!

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Aww, does that mean we'll have scrape off the 'Explodes on Impact' bumper sticker?

Murff

·