Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking of buying a 302 Ford crate engine (turn key). The builder says he can get 330hp from the cam the compression (9 2 1) and running it on premium pump gas 91 octain. I know it's going to have duel plane intake manifold, 600cfm carb along with a lot of great parts and machine work.
My question is. Is this possable using only stock heads from a late model 302 ford engine? He isn't using after market heads.
I am just learning this stuff so please bare with me if I ask dumb questions but he makes it sound easy and a buddy of mine says no way is he getting that much HP with stock heads.
The shop seems very reputable. It's Phoenix Engine Rebuilders and they have been in buisness for 40yrs. The engine is the aprox $3400.00.
Any help would be great thanks.

·
Premium Member
383 Posts
What heads is he using and what's he doing to them? You can get quite a bit of power out of GT40 and GT40P heads which are factory cast iron heads.

·
Premium Member
1,330 Posts
You can buy a Ford Motorsport carte engine for less than $3300 delivered to house.

FORD RACING CRATE ENGINE 306 CUBIC INCH 340HP

Part Number: M6007X302

340 Horsepower Ford Racing 306ci Crate Engine.

Get on the road with exceptional Ford Racing engine performance value from Ford Racing's new 306 cubic inch crate engine!

Produces 340 horsepower at 5500 RPM. Will work with Automatic or manual transmission. Can be used in kit cars, street rods, Mustangs and Fox-bodied cars. Intake gaskets M9439A50 are required. Firing order 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8 (5.0L HO and 351W order).

Features:
-9.0:1 compression ratio (nominal)
-Forged Mahle pistons 4.030"
-E303 camshaft
-Aluminum Ford Racing "X" cylinder heads, (M6049X306) with 1.94" intake valves and 1.54" exhaust valves (production is 1.78"/1.45")
-50in/oz imbalance rotating assembly (common to 1981 and newer 302s)
-Seasoned block and precision ground crankshaft