Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, so I finally finished my 351C and started it up on a test stand today. But I am having yrouble withthe break-in. I have a COmp Cam Flat Tappet 275DEH, its a 2000-6000 RPM cam, Comp cam says to break it in at 2K-2.5K RPM, but I cant keep it running at that low of an RPM, it wants to run between 3-3.5K at the lowest, the faster the better...I am running an Edelbrock 750 Performer, I've played with the Idle screw and air/fuel screws all day but I cant get the RPM down there. With that said, It's entire Break-in phase has been spent between 3-5K. Does anyone know what I need to do?

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here's what I did with the timing...I lined up TDC, put the wires on the HEI Distr. and started the engine, then turned the Distr. until it ran smoothly. Let me say this is my first time ever building an engine...

·
Registered
235 Posts
Just rebuilt my first 351C-4V as well. Did just the same to start off. I had electric problems and left the distr loose for first few tries and like you was only able to get the best run by twisting the distr. Now that I've cured the ignition voltage it's running smooth idle and under throttle. I had some old fuel in the tank which once replaced made a big difference on idle. But yours sounds like it's running lean. Hence, vacuum leak is suspect. If that is so, a spray test will show a drop in RPMs if a manifold leak is responsible. It could be a vacuum hose leak so look around for one that's been left off. I had to make lean/rich adjustment on passenger side of Holley carb. Then tweaked on the idle setting on driver side. I'm getting closer to satisfied on the break in run but probably plenty of adjusting needed. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #8