Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay guys I am no major engine builder and need some advise. I am looking at using my car as a parts car in the future and can't help but wonder should I look for a 429 car or build up my 351w? My current 351w was recently rebuilt after a timing chain failure. how much $ am I going to have to put into it when compared to getting a car with a 429 already in it? I am looking at using the car just for weekends cruising and shows and maybe take it to the drag strip a few times and some stop light to stop light fun. I am no pro drag racer,obviously, but don't want to do something stupid like discount the 351 just because the 429 is larger. I also should note that I would be mounting a manual trans in the future. thank you for any advice. Maybe the best idea would be to buy a 429 or another351 car while I rebuild the 351 5 or 10 yrs down the road.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Okay guys I am no major engine builder and need some advise. I am looking at using my car as a parts car in the future and can't help but wonder should I look for a 429 car or build up my 351w? My current 351w was recently rebuilt after a timing chain failure. how much $ am I going to have to put into it when compared to getting a car with a 429 already in it? I am looking at using the car just for weekends cruising and shows and maybe take it to the drag strip a few times and some stop light to stop light fun. I am no pro drag racer,obviously, but don't want to do something stupid like discount the 351 just because the 429 is larger. I also should note that I would be mounting a manual trans in the future. thank you for any advice. Maybe the best idea would be to buy a 429 or another351 car while I rebuild the 351 5 or 10 yrs down the road.