Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Short story, I've never built a 390 before, lots of other motors. I just want a reliable motor for a 1970 F100 4x4 C-6. I would like to get more cubic inches, crank change? block change? What heads, aftermarket aluminum? I don't want to change engine styles, I've built Boss 302's and 351's, chevy's big and small and Hemi's but not the FE motor, not yet. Could someone help with idea's, I'm looking for 500+ hp.
Thanks

·
Banned
6,355 Posts
Short story, I've never built a 390 before, lots of other motors. I just want a reliable motor for a 1970 F100 4x4 C-6. I would like to get more cubic inches, crank change? block change? What heads, aftermarket aluminum? I don't want to change engine styles, I've built Boss 302's and 351's, chevy's big and small and Hemi's but not the FE motor, not yet. Could someone help with idea's, I'm looking for 500+ hp.
Thanks
you have built other engines !!! OK

"block change" , . good idea . get a Genesis block . call them at (317) 357 8767

·
Registered
201 Posts
mid 70s hd truck block, bore to 428 ci. scat 428 crank. edelbrock alum heads, trw 428 stock replacement pistons for 10.7 comp. performer rpm intake 750 holley double pumper, newer hp if possible. high pressure oil pump and high flow oil filter housing aftermarket or 428 cj. comp 292h cam. dyno was 462 hp. runs 11.71 1968 cyclone and that is with stock cast iron 428 cj heads and a factory 428 pi interceptor intake.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Anybody have a suggestion on cam size? Does the orignal valvetrain have lift limits? How about duration at .050, whats a good number 240 to 250 degrees? I know Ford made a lot of different heads or go aftermarket?
Any input would help, I'm helping my son with this project.

·
Registered
841 Posts
never read Barry's book , but can say he knows the FE engine

Plus Barry is good source for FE performance parts