Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys I had a quick question ???? I have a 4 speed top loader that came with a 428 cobra motor that I got with a trade. My question is can I use the 4 speed (42
with a 351W im not sure and im really new to this. If I can't I think im going to sell it on e-bay. please let me know thanks Jim

·
Registered
118 Posts
I can't see this working in your application unless you used a 428cj clutch and I can't see this being compatible with a 351w flywheel. The problem is that the 428cj 4speed has an enormous 1 3/8" input shaft. How much if you're looking to sell it? What are the numbers on it?
Thanks and good luck
Tom

·
Registered
3,233 Posts
Need the right pilot bushing and clutch disc, call Centerforce, Ram, Ect. they will hook you up with what you need.

·
Registered
2,187 Posts
Most of the big diameter input shafts were set into the Cobra Jet and the Boss engined autos. They had close ratio and wide ratio, both depending upon the rear axle ratio. My thought is that the wide ratio was more prominent.

The Cobra Jet engines normally used a 11 1/2" diameter clutch, and the 351 (normal) engines used up to 11 inch ones. Thus the mention. To spline up to the input is not a real problem, as Ford engines have been using that since the days of the Model A. Obtaining an altered friction disk to fit a 351 may be a slowdown, but not impossible.

One thing also is that you need the Cobra Jet throwout bearing assembly for it is only one to fit over the trans snout. From there I don't know if the 351 arm has fingers spread enough to fit the bearing assy or not.

Instead of contacting someone via mail or telephone for this, find a local clutch rebuilding place and haul everything in to them. Then, go ahead and make your decision as to what you want and what you need.

Wm.

·
Registered
6,662 Posts