Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 360HP 429 (69 Marauder) overheats (210+degrees) at high speed (75-85 mph) . If I drop to 65 mph the temp. drops to 200 degrees. Also at low speed with the A/C on the temp runs about 200-215. Also there is a terrible spark knock on acceleration when the engine is this hot. I've been fighting this for 2 years. The collant system is clean and correct. I have an original factory stock car, so adding an alluminum radiator etc. would violate the "original" status of the car.

Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
3,658 Posts
The radiator is either plugged, or, it has insufficient capacity - get a rad shop to recore your existing one or buy a thicker core brass radiator.

Overheating on the highway is a classic sign of insufficient cooling capacity. Low speed overheating is generally an airflow issue, but can also be reflective of too low capacity.

You also might consider checking your timing - it may be making it run hot, especially if it's too retarded.

215º shouldnt cause you significant spark knock, unless you have real high compression - I think this is a timing issue compounded by a small radiator. 215 is well within operational limits, but shouldn't be something you constantly run at with an older car. (most modern fuel injection cars dont even turn the fans on until 210º)

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply..

The radiator is either plugged, or, it has insufficient capacity - get a rad shop to recore your existing one or buy a thicker core brass radiator.
>>>>The radiator has been checked out by rad shop.

Overheating on the highway is a classic sign of insufficient cooling capacity. Low speed overheating is generally an airflow issue, but can also be reflective of too low capacity.
>>>>Everything on the car is factory stock..