Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys. I'm looking for some general help.

I've got a 71 Lincoln Mark III, 460, c4 trans, basically stock. But not really.

Bought it from a guy who bought it from my father one month before I was born.

I'd like to drag race this car one day, It's big, and heavy, and I want it to be a sleeper.

I Don't need to be farmtruck, but at the same time, i'd like to line up to a stock Camaro SS, or Challenger, or Mustang, and make the guy in the car next to me go WTF just happened.

The engine has been bored .030 over. Been "decked" (not sure what that means.) had .060 shaved off of the block, and .030 off of the heads. Has D3VE heads, erson comp cam, with valve lift of .495/.495, Duration @.050 Lift 214/214, Lobe Separation 111 deg.(I don't know anything about duration, and very little about lsa) Has Holley 750 Dual line, single pump on it.

I am still pretty new to this stuff, was sheltered as a child, and never could afford anything until recently.

What I Want to know is this.
Do I have a decent platform to start with? What should I do first? And has anyone ever built one of these engines on a budget?

Also, would it be better to work with the heads I've got, or go with aftermarket Edelbrock RPM performer heads.(I know they're about $3,000, but the kit comes with a cam.

·
Registered
830 Posts
I used to hang with a guy that had one of these- the guys in the stands would bet on the "Stinkin' Lincoln"... it is very heavy, but then again, there are a lot of opportunities to shave weight off. The front couch, er, seat is about 2-300 lbs, a/c stuff, spare, rear seat, etc. a set of 3:50 ratio gears would help. he ran his in the mid 13's with not a lot of mods. lotsa torque. your compression sound like it should be higher now. more cam and carb would work, aftermarket heads would really help. gears would be first in my book

·
Registered
674 Posts