Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody, I am new to this forum, I have a 65 galaxie 4 door with a 352 four barrel in it in the shop. I am very new to cars, I have restored snowmobiles and working on two steam engines but never a car. I would really like to make it nice but an every day driver. It has dents along both sides but no major body rust. It does need paint and new chrome strips that go along the length of it. First order of business is to get it running. It was parked 20 yrs ago with a bad starter and I dont think dad ever drained the fuel tank. It is beyond me what to do first, i guess thats why I'm here. I have the equipment to do everything but I just need to get down and do it. I would really like to have a body shop take dents out and paint it. How much should I expect to pay for that? And if I send the body out I had just as well take out the interior and how much should I expect to pay for that? Dad wants me to wait untill we have the steam engines running but I'm not going to listen to him lol. I am only 15 so I can use all the advise I can get.
Thanks in advance,
Ryker Carruthers

·
Premium Member
5,852 Posts
It is pretty smart of you to mention the fuel is old. And that you can't drive a steam engine to school. You may have a bright future ahead of you, young man.

Let's see some pics of what you've got. What's your budget? Think the old man will kick something in?

Maybe you are right about the paint. I agree it is nice pulling into the parking lot all shined up! Can you use your dent puller and maybe a dolly kit and some bondo and a sander and take the opportunity to learn how to use them on the dents? Someone here can help you with that.

What's wrong with the interior? something a mail order seat cover, a dash cap and some carpet from a building supply store can fix?