Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there again, but this time with an electrical question.

For as long as I can remember, when using my high beams they may work for a while and turn off. My father says replace the dimmer switch as it was not intended for halogen lights. However after reading some old threads it seems that it could be the switch, the dimmer switch, or the ground. Mind you that the headlights work on low beam 100% of the time, so is safe to rule out a bad ground? I would like to get this problem resolved for this summer...don't want to hit a deer on the way back from the Pottsville Car Cruse weekend.

I also read about installing relays and using the original wiring to energize the coils? I think I know what I need to do, but I am a mechanical engineering student, not electrical (I claim black majic on some of what they say in electrical engineering :rolleyes: ). I work with a bunch of electrical engineers for a large connector company so I have a brain trust to tap into if I am completely stumped.

So the million dollar question is...what to do? Relays or replace the switches, both dimmer and light? If anyone has done the relay mod is it worth it? I like pictures...pictures of how it goes together would be great. I would prefer not cutting into the stock wiring if i decide, get convinced that it best, to use relays. Everything is original on this Gal, or close to it.

Thanks again,
coal cracker

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
I don't have a diagram for a 66 but if it is anything like my 61 you will have to cut the wiring somewhere to use a relay but it is really worth the effort. Even if you are using stock bulbs you will notice brighter lights using a relay and using Halogens it will likely make a big difference.