Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I got my '67 running today. Car was sitting for about 12 years. New distributor, rebuilt carb, new plugs/wires, changed all fluids. Car ran quite well. Still have a few bugs to work out. Anyways, i seem to have no reverse at all. With the shifter in reverse, I can rev the car like its in neutral. Park and drive both work as they should, but nothing going backwards. Any ideas? I checked the fluid, and it is fine. I've got no experience with ford transmissions, so any help or suggestions of what to check are appreciated!

Matt

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
Hello 67Galaxiefor6,

I'll be happy to offer some advice. On a C6 for reverse to occur, there are 2 clutches that need to apply. First is the Reverse/high clutch (also called the direct clutch) and secondly is the Reverse/low clutch.

You mentioned you had forward speeds. You can do a bit of diagnostic testing to see which clutch(es) are not engaging by driving the car.

I'll assume you have the later '67 trans with "Select Shift" or the 'PRND21' gear selector and not the "green dot" drive "Dual Range" earlier '67 trans.

To test the Reverse/high clutch, put the trans in 'D' and verify that the trans does indeed go into 3rd as your accelerate up to appropriate speed. Count the shifts if you have to as 3rd gear uses that Reverse/high clutch.

To test the Reverse/low clutch, while moving forward put the gear selector in '2' or '1' (depending on your speed) and verify you have engine braking and it's not just overrunning (seemingly in neutral when you release the accelerator).

Results check:

If you have no 3rd in 'D', some items it could be:

* Bad seals(rubber) or worn frictions in the Reverse/high clutch,
* Broken seal rings(metal) on stator support
* Stuck check ball in the stator support
* Bad seals on the intermediate servo piston (accessible from outer side of case)