Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys this is my first post so please bear with me on this.

Ive got a 68 Torino GT 2dr hardtop 302 auto with 29k original miles on it. It has the 8inch rear end with a 3.00 gear according to the Marti report I got on the car which also indicates its a 1 of 1.

Heres my question: can I put posi in the rear end to stop the one tire burn and what may be the best way to do this without burning up too much cash as I am on a budget.

Ive never messed with the rear gears of cars before and this is my first project car so any advise or help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cool, thanks

So this is just a drop in replacment once i verify if i have the 28 or 31 spline axle?

Any other tips on the install or any other upgrades that should go along with this?

·
Registered
130 Posts
Cool, thanks

So this is just a drop in replacment once i verify if i have the 28 or 31 spline axle?

Any other tips on the install or any other upgrades that should go along with this?
I've never done one before, pull the axles and the center section and have a pro set it up for you.

No stock 8" was 31 spline from what I can see.

9" could be either 28 or 31.

Stay with the stock 28 spline and re-use the axles

Might be cheaper to look for a set up 8" the way you want and keep the existing center case to re-install later for that true matching car.

·
Registered
10,315 Posts
Might be cheaper to look for a set up 8" the way you want and keep the existing center case to re-install later for that true matching car.