Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all i just pulled a 69 cyclone out of the weeds and am debating on restoring it.it is in canada so it has some rust but the undercarriage is good and the engine runs good and still drives ok.its a gt with a 390 and a 4 spd but i need some help with the vin to understand exactly what this car is.or if its correct with the gt or drivetrain. 9h16r58 is the first few numbers on the vin. any help would be appreciated . thanks

·
Registered
813 Posts
Im no numbers expert, but the first digit...9 means 1969.
The fifth digit....R means 428 Cobra Jet engine with Ram Air!!

So you've got a 69 Cyclone GT with a 428 CJ/4Spd.....yes, its certainly worth restoring!!
Its one of the rarest and most desirable musclecars on the planet....dont let rust scare you away...thats a bad ass car you have there!!

·
Registered
662 Posts
9 = model year 1969
H=Assembly Plant, Lorain
16=Body Code Cyclone GT
R= Engine code, 428 Cobra Jet
The last 6 digits are the consecutive unit production number for that model year from that Assembly plant.
Check to see if you still have the door data plate codes, located on the latch face of the driver's door, there are more numbers there that will tell you the colors, transmission, rear end and interior.

·
Registered
986 Posts
Someone just hit the lotto!

Thats an investment, restore it to 100% original, do it right, and will pay itself off.

Congrads, show us some photos :)

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
wow i cant belive it i will send some photos.im not full of crap but maybe a lucky sh&t.it has a 390 in it now.or ithink it is . if i can figure out how to add some pictures here.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #13