Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
I am no expert but that seems way high to me. Do lots of research before buying. It does look like a nice car.

·
Registered
97 Posts
The add says cash offers, so the price is negotiable. For 20K the car better be right, top to bottom, need nothing repaired, and you better love 70 Torinos. Id check out the car in person, thoroughly, and if you dont suspect any funny business (hidden problems) make an offer you feel comfortable with, leaving a little room for negotiation.

Nathan

PS Its a good lookin car!

·
Registered
425 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
OK, switching gears so to speak. I came across a 70 Torino Cobra Jet yesterday. I was able to contact the owner. He said the car wasn't on the market, but he'd be open to an offer. I haven't looked at the car closely yet as it was on the other side of a fence. It looked like the badge on the fender said 428, but it was getting dark. I thought the 70 CJ's came with 429's. It's a yellow car with black hood and interior.

The owner told me it is a true 4-speed car CJ. Mostly original with no rust, but has been repainted and engine rebuilt. I don't think it is a GT. I plan to take a close look at it this weekend if weather permits. What things should I look for (casting numbers, VINs, data plate codes) to verify its authenticity? What are the problem areas specific to the 70-71 Torinos? And finally, what is a fair price for a 70 CJ in #2 or #3 condition?

·
Premium Member
34,853 Posts
HA ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ah haaaaaaa haaa haaaa! ARE YOU EFFING SERIOUS?????????????????????????????????????

Who in the name of all that's mighty wants $20 K for a POS run of the mill car like that?

Should i stop now or really give it a go? That 351C sports roof car is probably maxed out at about $5500 bucks.