Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I'm pretty new to classic cars, so I hope someone here can help me out.

I just recently got a '72 Ranchero GT, 351C Engine. It needs work, but it works well, for the most part.

When the brakes are hit in a normal fashion (pressing them down gradually), they work great. However, when the brakes are pumped twice, the rear brakes lock up and the tires spin. I know old cars' brakes didn't have ABS in them, but I thought that the brakes used to lock up when stopping too quickly, making it where you were supposed to pump the brake. The right-rear tire seems to lock up sooner than the left does.

I had the brakes checked and the mechanic said that the brakes looked practically new, that I didn't need new ones, so I don't know what to do now.

Could someone help me out here? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
103 Posts
I have had similar problems. My '70's brake pedal would stick down after driving a few miles. My '71's rear brakes were getting too much boost. The '70 was a sticking master cylinder and the '71 was a defective booster. Other possible causes are the pushrod between the master cylinder and booster adjustment or a defective combination/proportioning valve. A new master cylinder/booster combination is pretty reasonably priced and would eliminate 3 of the 4 possible causes of your problem. Also, if your brakes perform differently after pumping them, you probably have air in the system.

·
Registered
5,337 Posts
I had a 73 GT and had the same problem(s). The back of the RANCHERO is very light (cut-down SW body) and the OEM proportioning valve used is the SW model. On a slick surface, one had to be very careful of locking the rear brakes on a hard application.