Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
'67 Galaxy XL with the 390 2 barrel.

The problem i've been having is hesitation on part throttle take off. if i floor it out of a light, all is well, but when i take off gently, it stumbles/hesitates. Is adjusting the points what i need to be doing? What about timing advance? Am i on the right track?

I've found how to adjust the points, but is there some sort of specification to it, like a gap? I've searched like crazy and I'm so lost with this..

How exactly do i go about adjusting/advancing the timing? i tried loosening the distributor mounting bolt, but it wouldnt turn like my other car does. I have my timing light hooked up, just having trouble actually CHANGING the timing!

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: dijital357 on 7/4/06 1:39am ]</font>

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok... and so im sure to make myself sound like a complete noobie, how do i adjust the dwell?

I have a dwell meter...if i can get it to work right.

Thanks a million.

·
Registered
559 Posts