Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The guy that i bought the car from told me I had factory rims on the car. They are definitely vintage 60s but I have never seen them on any other Ford (not on Torino's, Fairlanes, etc) - most Gals had simulated mags right? If anyone has any info on these I'd appreciate it. There's a link so you can view the rim. Who knows, maybe they aren't factory.

http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=6/15616393716.jpg&s=f5

notice you can see the brake - these aren't simulated.

oops, i guess i should mention these are on a 1968 Ford XL

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Last427 on 6/7/06 4:53am ]</font>

·
Premium Member
1,402 Posts
man, I'm no Galaxie expert but those are pretty interesting looking wheels. I guess that's some kind of cover held on there with set screws. can you get a close up of that logo on there? They don't seem factory to me.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Mikelonis on 6/7/06 8:34am ]</font>

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for the reply! I can't get any info at all on these. It does in fact have a Ford logo in the center. Below is a pic (i zoomed in and rotated the previous photo). You are also right about the cover - its held on by the 5 little bolts and underneath that is the typical 5x4.5 bolt pattern on all other Gals. Everytime I cross a Ford guy at a show I ask em about them and they just look at em funny. I'll include a pic of the car itself.

Ford Galaxie Logo:
http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=6/15623104791.jpg&s=f5

Full view of my car:
http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=6/15623120826.jpg&s=f5

·
Premium Member
3,340 Posts
any chance theyre from a brazil/australia/other foreign ford plant? or maybe they were some one-off test pcs that wound up on a exec's car???look inside rear- there should be some cast logo/p-n info- I havent seen a lot of things. but these are definitely not anything Ive ever seen before.