Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I've been playing with this off and on for about 4 months now. I have an 87 roller 5.0, stock cam, stock heads, stock non-adjustable rocker arms. I'm trying to start the engine and it keeps backfiring through the carb, and then I get flame on top of the carb. It seems like I'm running too far advanced but I've played with the timing so much. I even removed a valve cover to make sure my rotor was hitting the dist cap at the right spot. Or, it also is like my valves aren't closing all the way. Is that possible with the stock pedestal mounted rockers? Since, I've replaced the spark plugs, dist condensor, made sure I wasn't 180 degrees off on timing, correct firing order 13726548. I checked the carb, accelorator pumps are fine, squirters fine, float levels fine, power valve fine. I even swapped carbs with a car I was driving today that ran fine, same backfire through the carb and flames. So I'm sure its not a fuel issue. I am almost sure it is ignition. Maybe its the dual points. Any ideas?

·
Premium Member
827 Posts
Not sure what you meant by this:"I even removed a valve cover to make sure my rotor was hitting the dist cap at the right spot"??

·
Registered
862 Posts
Sounds like he was double checking his TDC, but not in a very accurate way.

--Upgrading to a duraspark setup is something I would strongly recommend. Also did you make sure that you have the correct distributor gear to match the roller cam?

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: gork1rogues on 7/30/06 10:06am ]</font>

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
Id bet your distributor is 180 out. Or your firing order is suspect to the cam. Is it a stock style cam or the original cam that came in the 87 5.0? . If its original then Id check the firing order then ,turn that dizzy around.