Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Dwayne im 20 and im new to this thread. I recently bought a 1964 galaxie. The guy i got it from was rebuilding the original motor (352) but he bout .010 over main bearings (why i dont know) and the motor wouldnt turn over. I got the motor in peices, i didnt feel like messin with it so i decided to through a 390 i had kickin around( i rebuilt most of it when i was 13 or 14.) i took it apart and freshened it up a bit. (now heres the problem) while freshing it up i forgot to put the oil pump drive shaft on the oil pump... the motor is 95% together now and i dont wanna have to rip the pan off... again.

So heres what im thinkin. im gonna take out the spring pin that holds the distributor gear on and im gonna through the gear on my bridgeport. im gonna indicate perfect center of the part that seats into the block and im gonna drill a small hole through it, with the drive shaft in it so it goes right through both. then im gonna put another spring pin in that to hold the oil pump shaft too the distributor gear. then im gonna grind the ends of the spring pin flush on both ends.

does anyone see any problems with that i think it will work, its a little rediculous but easier and less time consuming for me to do then takin in apart again and the shaft will always be conected to the distributor.

·
Premium Member
1,330 Posts
If the motor is out of the car you can have the pan off in 10 minutes.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can through it on my bridgeport and have it done in 4. and i wont have to pull the pan or the pump and i wont have to reassemble it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thats a very simple solution. lol ive been so frustrated with myself i guess i had no time to think. all i did was over think. will that be okay though... it dosnt have to be stationary it can just kinda float in there

·
Premium Member