Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
Read the other day in Popular hotrodding about a 500cui Chevy LS1 or LS7 or what ever.....

How about Windsors?
World Products Manowar 9.5" blocks can be bored to 4.200" and stroked to 4.25" which will give 471cui.

Is it possible to bore the manowar blocks over 4.200" on a street engine?

How about more stroke?
I think it must possible to increase stroke further with Honda rod bearings or any other small bearings.

Does anyone on this forum know if this has been done?
How big is the biggest Windsor stroker you have heard of?

There are a lot of strange ideas floating around in my head.....

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
Im no expert on stroker engines, but you have to remember if those are the max bores then your going to only have one build on a street engine. No over bore after that.
Id actually leave like .06 for future rebuilds. Never know in a max performance engine you might scuff a piston or score a cylinder. then your $3000 block is junk
My ulitmate thought for me is a 365 ci all aluminum 8.2 deck height engine. The pinto is a lil nose heavy as it and that might help.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well economics are not my area........

But,
If those blocks can take 4.200" on a race engine it must be able to take more on a street engine.

What do you think about rods with Honda bearings and smaller big end, will it make strokes over 4.250" possible or are the 9.5" deck height the limiting factor?

The 500 cui LS1 had deckplates and 10.2" deck height.
4.200" bore and 4.5" stroke.

I need to get rid of all these creatures in my head, they give me all these bad ideas....

·
Registered
1,892 Posts
E mail World Products/Dart. I've never heard of any Windsor style block hitting 500ci.

·
Registered
2,617 Posts