Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friend has a 1988 e 150 van with a 5.0 in it, and it is running rich at idle and take off. We changed the o2 sensor and it didn't change.It got so bad it fouled the plugs. We changed the plugs and did an oil change .I am not up on the 5.0 computer controlled engines. What am I overlooking?What senser should I look at?

·
Registered
2,251 Posts
I'm not up on the 5.0 stuff but in the past I've seen the fuel pressure regulator go bad and suck large amounts of fuel into the intake trough the vacuum line that controls it.
Take the vacuum line off the fuel pressure regulator and see if it has fuel in it. It should be somewhere on the fuel rails that feed the injectors.

I'm not even sure if your car has one or not, It's been a while sense I worked at a repair shop.
I've seen people spend all kinds of money on parts that don't need to be changed. When I worked full time in the business I always checked the parts I thought were bad. If you get a good Manuel it will give you the procedure on checking the components in the system.

Hope this helps.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: 393Clevor on 4/29/02 9:14pm ]</font>

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I still have a very rich condition,it fouled another set of plugs and the oil is gassy.I changed o2 sensor and checked fuel reg for leak in vacuume hose.Anyone have any other ideas?HELP!!!!!

·
Registered
2,251 Posts
With it running pull the vacuum line off the reg. See if any gas comes out. Also put a gauge on the system and see if it holds any pressure when you shut it down. You may have a bad injector that's letting fuel dump all the time.