Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My first post so stick with me.... Im also new to the world of hot rods. My dad passed away and left me a Bucket T roadster with a 289 and a C4 tranny. Everything has been rebuilt (motor, tranny). I've been having issues with the trans. Most of the time when coming to a stop it never downshifts into low gear. So when taking off it only shifts once. Id think it should shift twice. Im not sure if its because the car is so light that it doesnt shift down properly or what ? I also cant get it pulled into low gear with the shifter. Fluid is at correct level. The guy who rebuilt it moved and Im not able to locate him (sucks). I thought Id throw out a post before taking it somewhere. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
16 Posts
First I would fix the shifter problem,Make sure all the detents in the shifter and trans are together.If the engine is a 289 maybe its a early c-4( Green dot) and it will take off in 2nd in the drive position and shift once to 3rd.Try putting it in 2nd position and see what it does.if it shift all3 that explains it.if not it will stay in 2nd because non green dot c-4s all have manual control 2nd.If all this fails might be a sticky governer valve.But attend to that shifter,seen many make incorrect shifter adjustment and fry the trans!
Good Luck, Fairmont510

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·