Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1969 Galaxie XL - 390 FE
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have removed my C6 from the 69' Galaxie and now cannot remember how the lines should be routed.

Based on the picture below:
Does it matter how the red and green lines are attached to the radiator?
I think the orange line is a vacuum that should be connected to the manifold? The inset picture shows the other end of the orange line.

On a side note, I am replacing this tranny with a TCI C6. Will this unit be a direct replacement and connect to my 390 FE?

Appreciate the feedback.

·
Registered
861 Posts
Yes, orange line to intake manifold vacuum.
The cooler lines don't really matter which way they go at the rad, but I like to try to get then back the same.
Don't worry about it tho, if you can't remember which way they were.

Why the TCI trans?
Yes the one in the link will fit a 390.
I have seen how TCI builds their trannys, (I have over 40 years experience in the trans rebuilding trade)
and I've never been impressed with any of the couple dozen TCI trannys that I have had the dis-pleasure to work on.
The owners of those trannys were not impressed either, as the majority of them failed within a couple hundred miles of install.

All the TCI trannys I have worked on, looked like they built them with parts that should have been tossed in the scrap pile.

YMMV..

I'd just get the original trans built by a shop that has a good reputation.

·
Registered
1969 Galaxie XL - 390 FE
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks galaxiex for the sanity check. I wish I would have asked about the TCI unit before ordering it

·
Registered
63 convertable
804 Posts
ummmm you sure about the orange line? sure looks like a fluid line fitting, and usually the modulator is in the rear

·
Registered
861 Posts
Thanks galaxiex for the sanity check. I wish I would have asked about the TCI unit before ordering it
Sorry about that.