Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK Fairlane friends, ready to put the big block in my 66. Can someone tell me how far from the top of the shock towers I should cut down before making the vertical cut. Trying to keep from having to put the Mustang II front end under it. Thank you.

·
Registered
830 Posts
Why are you cutting at all? both FE and 385 series motors wil fit. With that said, you really only gain better spark plug access, which would be personal preference as to how far you cut...

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have taken several measurments and with headers on the 460, I just don't see how it will fit. Then again, I'm new at this. If I don't cut, will I have enough room to change plugs. This will be a strip car, so I know plug changing will be frequent. Any advice you offer, I appreciate.

·
Registered
1,468 Posts
now I guess the question would be, is the 460 wider than the FE?

FE

·
Registered
3,549 Posts
Ford Engine Dimensions Engine Family LxWxH in inches, without carburetor. Weight in Lbs.
221-260-289-302======= =29 x 24 x 27.5----- 460
Boss 302======== =====29 x 24.5 x 28.5----500
335 Series 351 Cleveland=== 29 x 25.5 x 27.5---550
351 Windsor============ 29 x 25 x 29------ 525
FE Series 352-390-406-410-427-428===32 x 27 x 29--625
Boss 429================ 34 x 30 x 30----635
385 Series 429-460========== 34 x 27 x 30----720
427 SOHC========== 34 x 32 x 30------------- 680
4.6L SOHC or DOHC========= 36 x 36 x 44----600

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: 64 TBOLT on 8/7/06 2:14am ]</font>

·
Registered
830 Posts
same width as FE series.. I've worked on a 70 mustang w/ a 429 in it, although is wasn't easy, you could reach the plugs with the right universal joint and extensions...

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·