Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I have been on the MSD forum and they have recommended one of two Distributors to suit my 347 stroker build. The 8579 and 8598. Neither of these seem to have vacuum advance and I was wondering what you guys thought about this? Do I need vacuum advance on a fast street car? It seems from what I read that pure mechanical advance is only for race cars but I'm no expert on the matter!!!

Thanks

Martin

·
Registered
5,017 Posts
Hi

I have been on the MSD forum and they have recommended one of two Distributors to suit my 347 stroker build. The 8579 and 8598. Neither of these seem to have vacuum advance and I was wondering what you guys thought about this? Do I need vacuum advance on a fast street car? It seems from what I read that pure mechanical advance is only for race cars but I'm no expert on the matter!!!

Thanks

Martin
It really comes down to if you are concerned about MPG.

With vacuum advance the car will eek out a mile or so more on longer trips if driving is not "spirited." Properly driven, you will get higher vacuum and thus more total advance if you are just cruising which leads to increased fuel economy.

If the car is used more as a toy and you don't care so much about economy, then the mechanical advance will work just fine by itself. General driveability is not affected. Its been done countless times so it is not just a race car only mod.

Typically you can save a few bucks on the initial purchase if you forego the vacuum advance.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It really comes down to if you are concerned about MPG.

With vacuum advance the car will eek out a mile or so more on longer trips if driving is not "spirited." Properly driven, you will get higher vacuum and thus more total advance if you are just cruising which leads to increased fuel economy.