Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 64 Galaxie and decided to put a 380 rear end in and get rid of the 350 I have. Well, upon opening up the 49 year old case i found this inside.
Now I am a novice mechanic, but I don't think this stuff belongs in any rear end ! Well, I cleaned out the alien gunk and put the new gears in but I think my axles are shot...What do you folks think ??? The splines are thin looking to me...

Attachments

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Sure looks bad... but I think I'd clean it all up with some gasoline or thinner before condemning anything.

Most rear failures I see are either neglect, dirt getting into the vent line (it isn't that hard to hook up a lil filter), or improper install. What I mean by the last, is I've seen some folks replace the pinion oil seal and not replace the crush washer or tighten enough. This leaves the pinion gear a lil loose and it gets crunchier over time.

good talking to ya today!
Drew

·
Premium Member
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Same here Drew !! Thanks for your help !
There was a weighted collar on my old yolk,so when I took my old yolk off and put it on my new 380 rear end, I left the weighted collar on,is that an OK move or what is the reason for the weight behind the yolk ? This collar is about 3 inches long and lays between the yolk and the case.

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
I've only ever seen that on 63-64 Galaxies. I asked this question myself bout a year ago.

Apparently it's a driveline balancer of some sort. Makes sense, and seems like a good idea, but not knowing how to balance it does make me wonder how to install it properly. I'd think you'd need to balance the driveshaft with it on the end, but I dunno the specifics.

·
Administrator
21,676 Posts