Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4,520 Posts
On 2006-11-15 13:22, psivory wrote:
I have a new master cylinder which is for front disc, rear drum. I am a little confused wether or not I need a residual valve, and or proportioning valve.
Thanks!
Yes you need one to "properly" make the change. You can do it one of several ways.

Since that year had a factory option for front discs, you can find one and replace it with the proper distribution block...by the way, Ford factory used a combination valve instead of separate residual valve it has the proper bias built into the combination valve. If I am not mistaken MPC, sells the correct (or very near correct) valve. Check their online catalog.

The other way is to install a proportion valve as suggested. But I'm not certain that solve the problem, since the residual valve is still inside the combination block. You may need to "gut" it, if you are going to use a proportioning valve.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Currently Converting my 64 to disc's.Just bought my FORD style proportioning valve from ABS PowerBrake in the city of Orange,CALIF
$55.00 The only bitch is setting up the NEW brake lines to feed the calipers and reposition the hold downs/brackets on the frame rails.
Other than that,its going pretty smooth,so far.
i will post pics of the progress.

·
Registered
5,337 Posts
On 2006-11-15 13:22, psivory wrote:

I have a new master cylinder which is for front disc, rear drum. I am a little confused wether or not I need a residual valve, and or proportioning valve.
To properly plumb, you need a metering valve for the front brakes, a pressure differential valve (for warning lamp oeration) and an adjustable proportioning valve for the rear brakes.

The residual valve for the rear brakes will be in the MC (DISC/DRUM).

FORD did not go to a combination valve until 1972, so to retain proper bias, you will be better with the adj. proportioning valve (IMO).

·
Registered
2,149 Posts