Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5,028 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yesterday if finally completed my Stealth to Vic Jr swap. Discovered that it is possible to swap a Vic Jr. under a stock 65/66 hood with a full 14" air cleaner (disregard that I have a Shelby scoop-it's vacant.) Car has already picked up allmost .3 tenths and 3mph--the Stealth just wasn't enough for a 6400 shifted 393.

Anyways, my question is simple. With the single plane will I typically need to jet up, down or will I see little difference?

·
Registered
991 Posts
ya on a 393 I would fully expect those gains. As for jetting I have had sometimes where I needed a change other times, noticed very little after some plug reading

·
Registered
3,658 Posts
I have no experience in the matter, but it would seem to me you might need a little more jet due to increased plenum volume. Certainly can't hurt to bump them up on the track and see if you gain anything.

·
Registered
373 Posts
Great performance increase Dennis!! Nice sleeper.

I need do the same to my 347 and switch from the Pro. Products Air Gap to the Vic Jr. I would love to see the same increase you got.

I would also like to know how to jet when changing from the dual to the single plane.

BTW...What did it run? 60,1/8,1/4, mph?

·
Registered
908 Posts
On 2006-07-12 06:28, woody1 wrote:
ya on a 393 I would fully expect those gains. As for jetting I have had sometimes where I needed a change other times, noticed very little after some plug reading
Is your name Jim Woods?

·
Registered
5,028 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
On 2006-07-12 10:22, Vinyl66 wrote:

BTW...What did it run? 60,1/8,1/4, mph?
I run a dismal 2.53 second 60, and 14.242 second quarter at 108.6mph with a 4 speed and 3:70 gears. Race weight hauling me around is 3400lbs
Was a consistent 14.56 and 105.8.