Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I have a 1981 4 door Fairmont Futura that I have inherited from my father-in-law. It has a straight 6 200 engine and c4 trans. I really like this car but I want to turn it into a "Green Hornet" style car. But first I want to start with the engine. I need more HP! I have read the forums on swapping engines and it seems to be pretty easy. The only problem that I am having (since I am fairly new to this) is with some of the tech terms. I read about swapping "K-members". I don't know what or where that is .... sorry. But from what I read I can swap a 5.0 mustang engine from certain years with no problem because of the fox body. Can anyone give me a list of things to change to reach this goal? Recommendations, Suggestions?

·
Registered
5,337 Posts
Your FAIRMONT has a special cross-member (inline six) as opposed to the 2.3L and 5.0L. You have to change it out.

·
Premium Member
1,479 Posts
He's talking about a large brace that goes across the front under the engine. That is what the engine mounts to. A simple "cross member" is just one large steel brace going from side to side. A "K member" is just like it sounds. It's a metal brace that looks like a "K" going side to side with angled braces off of it. You will have one or the other on that car and I suspect it's a cross member but I'm not sure.

Changing out either type isn't hard. On some of the newer cars they leave the engine attached to the K member and after unbolting it, remove it and the engine together from under the car in one piece.

John

·
Banned
6,355 Posts
only thing I seen different between the 6 and 8 was the motor mount tower .

those were cut off and motor plates were used

6 cyl tower extended further to the front

8 bolt if I recall correct removes the K member

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6