Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, this is my first build. I recently bought back my 1966 Mustang all original 289 2v. Even though its all original, lets face it not a whole lot of resale because it was the 2v regular daily driver car. Now, this being said, in the next year I plan on gutting it and starting over, with a street/strip set up. Some of the mods im planning(after I get another wiring harness and put my enginge back in) are a 4bbl carb (Holley more than likely), a Weiand intake, I already have headers, electronic exhaust cutouts, a mild street cam(possibly something I can use with my stock heads) and for now thats pretty much it. The question I have is what set up to run for tranny and rear end... I am wanting 1/8 speed, so Ive considered 4.11-4.56 ratio, but not sure what would be too much. I am also wondering if I should build my stock transmission or buy a TCI. Once I do this, for a good launch with an automatic, what size stall do I need? Any advice, ideas, different set up plans, etc. would be GREATLY appreciated. Like I said, this is my first build, and I will be pretty much doing it by myself. Thanks for all Input.

-66 mustang, 09 Honda Civic Si

·
Registered
2,187 Posts