Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I will be performing my very first engine swap in the next couple weeks and just wondering if anyone has some good advice for someone doing this for the first time? Or if you've got any good links that talk about swapping your 302 for a built 302, send those my way.

Thanks
Mikey

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, this is on a 94 Mustang GT, the 302 currently in it needs to be removed and i am dropping a built up (by someone else) 302 in it. What specifically do i need help with? hmm, good question, as i said before i have never done an engine swap before so, once i sstart removing accessories like AC, ALT, etc what next? I'm looking for tips, things others had difficulty with,. . . easier ways in retrospect to do things, . . in what order. Things like that.

TIA
Mikey

·
Registered
122 Posts
Books could be written on engine swaps.

Several tips from my experience.
Get a bunch of baggies and some labels. Put everything(sets of things that go together) in its own baggie and label it for later reinstallation.
Photograph every step you take if you can. preferrably with a digital camera. It will help when you do the reinstall.
Take copius notes and read them.
Clean, clean, clean...everything should be as clean as you can make it. Including your garage floor. And clean as you go. Lots of dirt and oil and stuff will fall to the floor.
Engines are best removed with 3 people. You can do it with 2 or one, but since you have not done one before, get a couple of buddies to help.