Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got A ??? maybe a few.... got a fully rebuilt motor ( 352 ) in my 63 galaxie , new rear main.... everything .... everything is great if you dont mind the oil leaking everywhere...... It seems my seal didnt get in right or something ... or maybe im just lucky and get to work on %&#@ sixteen times.... LOL The ? I have is..... seal type, is there only one kind , mine came in a kit with the motor rebuild... seemed a bit flimsy but this is my first time working on this...

Now that I will be doing this on my back under the car , is there a better seal or a good way to install . no gasket sealer ? 15 gallons ? any help would be great cause the only thing I can think of right now is a gernade ...... LOL Any links, part numbers , to good seals.... thanks, from the greasey guy under the dang car .

·
Premium Member
6,077 Posts
That is a tough job fixing the seal from underneath. To get the pan off you probably have to jack the engine up some and then stuff some wood in the motor mounts, even then it aint easy. Better be sure it is the rear seal first. Just because you see the oil back there don't mean jack, could be coming from anywhere, even from the front, blown there by the fan.

·
Registered
2,797 Posts
Check the valve covers and the intake manifold where the heads, block and manifold meet up. After you are sure they are not leaking then pull the inspection cover and make sure it's the rear main and not the cam plug or galley plugs. Good luck.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·