Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
65 Falcon Futura. All but one of the brake drums are frozen. I can not get the drum off of the right rear, and both fronts. The rear right just spins but drum wont wiggle off. As for the fronts, the drum wont come off of the hub. I was told they are to be taken off at the same time but I tried that as well and doesn't work. I have been attempting to get these brakes off for well over 4 months now and am at my wits end. The bfh isnt working either, and pb blast is useless as well. The brake adjuster under the rubber piece is seized and wont move either. Sooo...what the hell do I do? Take a torch to it and just cut the damn things off? Sounds like a good idea to me.

·
Registered
576 Posts
For the front wheels, remove the drum and hub together after removing the dust cap, cotter pin, and spindle nut. If it doesn't slide off after that, and the adjusters are froze like you say, cut the head off the brake shoe locating pin on the back of the backing plate. That should give things enough slack that the drum/hub can be pried off.

On the backs, if they are spinning the problem is in 2 areas. !. the shoes are hanging up on the ridge or rust and unworn metal at the back of the drum. 2. Corrosion between the axle flange and center and wheel stud holes in the drum. PB Blaster should have worked its magic there. If not, it might be time for a hub puller. Borrow one from Autozone.

I'm whispering this tip...shhhhhh...it's NOT an approved method...Sometimes you can get a sticky rear drum off by prying against the backing plate and drum with a big screw driver or bar while using your Chevy wrench (AKA BFH) with tiny dainty taps on the axle flange. It might break the rust loose and let the drum work free...shhhhhh remember, this is a secret...

·
Registered
340 Posts