Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 105 Posts

·
Registered
2,971 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I converted my car from factory power steering to rack & pinion using a well known kit. I am going to pull the rack setup off and sell it at a swap meet, trade it or something. There is nothing wrong with it, but it is a nightmare to get working with factory clutch linkage. I am going to rebuild the cylinder and control valve. How difficult is this? What is the deal with the idler arm bushings? Is there a good source for reasonably priced inner tie rod ends? Are the hoses the same for 62-64? I can find the hoses for a 64, but not for my 62. I am sorry for all of the questions, but this is my first time dealing with non integral power steering.

·
Registered
10,312 Posts
Well, I'll pitch 2 cents on the PS hoses. I've about given-up on finding some of them, and now I just make my own from AN fittings and hose, or for the original look, I have them made-up locally as I need them. Doing another set next week in-fact.

What I do is use pics of originals in manuals for basic routing ideas, and then hand-bend 1/4" copper tubing to the shape and length I want. Haul that squiggled tubing to the local hydraulic hose shop, and they whip-up a duplicate out of the correct end fittings and hose to match my tubing shape.

Try to make ends in even angles (straight, 45°, 90°, 135°, etc.) if possible, and put tape or marker lines where you need the hard ends to become hose. Be sure to put the tubing in a big box to carry it so it doesn't get bent at all before they handle it. ;)

David

PS: Check around as prices are all over the map. Some shops are dirt cheap, and others price them like gold.
It may be worth driving an extra 20 miles for a good and friendly shop.

·
Premium Member
1,330 Posts
Save money and fix the clutch linkage.

·
Registered
2,971 Posts
Discussion Starter #4