Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive been going crazy

trying to fit a few sets of shorty headers on my galaxy. I pretty sure that the motor is a swap from 289 to a 390 . All the headers i find have an issue with the #1&5 tubes hitting the shock towers .
A side note is that my trans mount had to have a 2 1/2 peice of metal welded to it so it can reach the crossmember. There looks to be at least 3" space from rear of intake manifold to the A/C box . The main problem that I can see is the oil pan won't allow everything to move back .the trans is stock .
Now I'm not sure that the headers will fit if motor was 2 1/2 " back . Is there a oil pan ( that i can't find ) that would allow the rearward move needed ? And still i might have to rotate the motor mount brackets
180 degrees?
I'm a retired auto mechanic w/advanced level master certified tech w/over 40 years exp.
But headers usually are a bit challenging.
Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
ive been going crazy

trying to fit a few sets of shorty headers on my galaxy. I pretty sure that the motor is a swap from 289 to a 390 . All the headers i find have an issue with the #1&5 tubes hitting the shock towers .
A side note is that my trans mount had to have a 2 1/2 peice of metal welded to it so it can reach the crossmember. There looks to be at least 3" space from rear of intake manifold to the A/C box . The main problem that I can see is the oil pan won't allow everything to move back .the trans is stock .
Now I'm not sure that the headers will fit if motor was 2 1/2 " back . Is there a oil pan ( that i can't find ) that would allow the rearward move needed ? And still i might have to rotate the motor mount brackets
180 degrees?
I'm a retired auto mechanic w/advanced level master certified tech w/over 40 years exp.
But headers usually are a bit challenging.
Thanks in advance
Hello bikewrnch,