Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just picked up 2 windsors and a complete 86 5.0 with a transmission for $240. I'm just curious about what year the 351s are. I am a high school student and just thought they might be fun projects to rebuild. Here's what I could find on the 2 351s.

·
Registered
231 Posts
The one starting with E4 is a 1984 block, and the D9 block is 1979. Ford uses letters & numbers for dates- C=1960's, D=1970's, E=1980's, etc.

·
Registered
567 Posts
From your pictures the E4 block was cast in '75 and the D9 was cast in '72. Block casting numbers do not change every year but the casting date changes to the day they are cast every time. The casting number ONLY changes when the block has something changes on it. F4 was the change to "roller cam" capability.

·
Registered
567 Posts
SORRY , I meant E4 was cast in 85 not 75 MY mistake!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
567 Posts
badcatt you are right! Man I was having a bad day LOL A D9 with a 2 as the first number on the casting date would be cast in "82" , not "72" like I posted. My error , thanks for correcting me. I'm gonna go stand in the corner wearing the "dunce" hat.

·
Registered
567 Posts
It actually IS possible to have a block / heads /intake cast before the year indicated on the casting itself. This occurs when "next years" parts are cast from Sept to Dec and there was a design change made causing the casting number to change. Three years is obviously NOT possible , my bad.

·
Registered
10 Posts