Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for an inexpensive high amp alterntor for the stang. I know we covered this in the last forum software but, I can't seem to find it. Trying not to pay $150 or more for an alt. I know one of the places was from E-bay. Never bought anything from there.

·
Premium Member
158 Posts
I got mine from summit. I think it is a 100 amp for $120. They had a 140 amp for $150 or so.

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
i got a 100 amp Delco 12si from a local guy for about $90.

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Wow the conversion kit to 105 amp is very tempting. I was originally looking for a 1 or 2 wire system to cleen things up a little but for $40 maybe I'll live with the old dull alt. Anyone know if you can polish a stock case? The chrome one from summit id very tempting also.

·
Registered
2,617 Posts
I got a Powermaster 140 amp 1-wire for my Bronco from Summit for like $150. I've been extremely pleased with it; it doesn't put out any electrical noise, has no problem holding over 14v at idle even with a 40 amp load, and I've seen it push over 150 amps while jump-starting a friend's car (I have a precision digital ammeter I installed to watch it's output). I got it about 6 months ago and it hasn't failed yet, so I guess that's good, at least better than any Schucks alternator I've seen, LOL!

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thats my problem now. At running speed the 65 amper is fine, but when it's idling and both elec fans are on with the fuel pump the old 65er don't cut the mustard.
Is it a true 1 wire or is there a 2nd wire for an ignition source? What did you do with the factory wires?

·
Premium Member
158 Posts