Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Premium Member
980 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the middle of putting together my first motor. As it seems is a common thing, my budget is spent on go fast parts and not tools. So when It came time to yank the caps off my rods I found myself in a pickle. Spend 300+ bucks or make my own.

I decided to make my own. I located a piece of nylon at work 2.5" OD. I didnt want to use anything besides a plastic just to avoid damaging any surface. Turned it down to 2.100. Now being a machinist I have ALOT of one time use tools and this will be one of them! Depending on the size of the big end with and without a bearing installed you will want to turn it down to a size that will allow you to fit the tool inside the rod end with a bearing in it. Next I drilled a 1/2" hole through the center, so I could use a tapered pin to push through the two halves. I cut the disc off at just over 1" long or the thickness of the rod. Once turned down to 2.100 and cut off I went to the high precision band saw and cut the disc half.

This picture shows the two halves with the 5/16 holes drilled and the dowl pins installed.

After its cut in half I went to a bridgeport to drill my dowl holes. I planned to use 5/16 dowls that are 3/4" long so I had to take into account my drill point and drill beyond .375. this will allow the tool to close completely when installed together, and slide when opened. Depending on how exact/ perfect you like to be depends on how you want to drill this sucker out. Im sure you could use a cordless drill and eyeball it if your in a rush but I like things a little better then that.

Now back to the bridgeport... I installed both halves into a machinist vise. With them being very close to equal halves I used a straight edge across both pieces to make them level/ perpindicular to the drill bit.