Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm new to this Forum..I got a 68 289 sitting in my garage and I think its time to finally put some work on it..I was thinking of stroking it but not sure..if so what are the basic things I need to stroke it??any ideas??

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using AutoGuide.com App

·
Premium Member
1,479 Posts
Are you planning to do all the work yourself? In addition to installing the stroker crank, rods and pistons you'll also need to clearance the block. A good Dremel tool will do the job.

For me it was best to just buy the completed short block since I'm not a professional engine builder. I bought mine from Coast High Performance (CHP) and it's been good so far.

John

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah I'm planing to do the work myself and a friend. I'm not a professional either but ill learn as I go. But I was thinkin of also Juss buying a completed block but I actually want to be proud of building it myself.

·
Premium Member
34,853 Posts
Yeah I'm planing to do the work myself and a friend. I'm not a professional either but ill learn as I go. But I was thinkin of also Juss buying a completed block but I actually want to be proud of building it myself.

That's the way to do it man! Welcome to Ford Muscle man! I thought you were spam at first, glad you're not!

If you simply want power grab a 302 and viollah =] you got power.

But building a 289 yourself will be awesome.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah a 302 is would be nice but why let this 289 go to waste for..ill Juss tune this up and have some fun with it and if I want something with even more power then ill just swap it to a 302..

·
Premium Member
2,216 Posts