Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've low vacuum and all the symptoms of a vaccum leak. I plugged every line, did the carb cleaner spray test and used new gaskets on the carb and still has low vacuum so I think it's an internal leak. I'm going to pull the manifold and try some new gaskets.

The car was factory 2v car that someone swapped over to 4v heads at some point. It has Torker manifold with 650 Holley DP.

2 questions:

1) Does anyone have any recommendation's on the gaskets? I'm looking at:

Fel-Pro Performance Intake Manifold Gasket Sets Q1228 - SummitRacing.com
Mr. Gasket Standard Intake Gasket Sets 214 - SummitRacing.com

2) Do I have to drain any coolant before I pull the intake? The radiator hose leads directly to the block on the Cleveland so I'm assuming no.

I'm a total newb so any other tips on resealing/replacing an intake would be helpful. Thanks.

More info: The car/truck is a 1974 Ranchero with a rebuilt engine.

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
I'd go with the Felpro set.

You do NOT have to drain any coolant. It is a dry intake.

·
Registered
691 Posts
I've low vacuum and all the symptoms of a vaccum leak. I plugged every line, did the carb cleaner spray test and used new gaskets on the carb and still has low vacuum so I think it's an internal leak. I'm going to pull the manifold and try some new gaskets.

The car was factory 2v car that someone swapped over to 4v heads at some point. It has Torker manifold with 650 Holley DP.

2 questions:

1) Does anyone have any recommendation's on the gaskets? I'm looking at:

Fel-Pro Performance Intake Manifold Gasket Sets Q1228 - SummitRacing.com
Mr. Gasket Standard Intake Gasket Sets 214 - SummitRacing.com

2) Do I have to drain any coolant before I pull the intake? The radiator hose leads directly to the block on the Cleveland so I'm assuming no.